In your everyday life, do you yourself use technology to improve how you see, hear or use other senses?

Albert Einstein once said “I fear the day that technology will surpass our human interaction. The world will have a generation of idiots”.1 Technology is an extremely contradicting subject nowadays; shared knowledge demonstrates that it has numerous negative aspects. Nevertheless, it likewise has tremendous influence in the way senses are used. This zone of exchange between the positive or negative side, is a fine line, depending entirely on personal and experiential knowledge.

379aa17
File 1

I do not need special care for my eyes, nevertheless, my both parents and my brother do. They all have myopia, which is difficulty seeing from the distance, or Astigmatism which is blurred vision at any distance2. New technologies, like the glasses, help them employ their sight sense efficiently.

(1)

Regarding sight, there are modern ways that allow my sight and knowledge improve. These include sun glasses, flash lights, light bulbs, computers, televisions and cell phones, which are the mechanisms I use the most. They aid me in terms of being able to adjust size or brightness in an object in general. The sun glasses protect my eyes from too much light, while the flash light illuminates what I need to see in the darkness.  The sense of sight represents about 80% of the information that we acquire from the world that surrounds us.3 I have to use the computer and my cell phone to do homework, watch series and movies and play with social media. They are ways in which the world is connected, I can use whatsapp, facebook, Instagram or snapchat to communicate and create bonds with friends that I have made in the other part of the globe. My sense of talking has evolved using these websites. However, these sites can also be the places where criminals interconnect or where cyberbullying can take place. Even though 22% of the total time of most humans spent on the internet is in these sites, I still use my computer for research and school projects. Similarly, I watch music videos and shows, as of 37% of the North American.

 

Yet, there is also negative implications with these machines. Looking at a screen for too long can cause headaches, burning and itching in the eyes, or dry eyes . I actually do get itching in my eyes once in a while and have to put eye drops to reduce the dryness in them.  Additionally, I listen to music, wearing earphones most of the time. It is easy and accessible to listen to music and watch school videos at all times without bothering the rest of the people, but it can cause dead ear cells.

(2)

I do not suffer from ear problems either. My grandma does, she is deficient in the ears and has to wear hearing aids. This technology allows her to listen to me. This new technology is extremely effective for her, and I am thankful that she has it to help her improve her hearing sense.

NIDCD-Hearing-Aids-Girl.jpg
File 2

The technologies of ear exams are extremely crucial for me. I always get scared that my hearing sense my not be very well, hence, I go to a doctor and get it checked. This combines the touch sense and the noise sense. There are four types of tests: the automated otoacoustic emissions, automated auditory brainstem response, pure tone audiometry tests, and bone conduction tests . I generally get number three done, where I have to listen (with ear phones on) to sounds of different volumes and frequencies and press a button when they are transmitted.

To finish, it is important to say that technology has brought many negative and positive implications in my life. However, it has helped me and my family improve our hearing, seeing and talking senses. Doesn’t this make modern life worth living in?

REFERENCES:

1  Quoteinvestigator.com. (2013). I Fear the Day That Technology Will Surpass Our Human Interaction | Quote Investigator. [online] Available at: http://quoteinvestigator.com/2013/03/19/tech-surpass/ [Accessed 15 Sep. 2016].

2 Aoa.org. (2016). Astigmatism. [online] Available at: https://www.aoa.org/patients-and-public/eye-and-vision-problems/glossary-of-eye-and-vision-conditions/astigmatism?sso=y [Accessed 15 Sep. 2016].

3 Anon, (2016). [online] Available at: http://www.visionaware.org/info/everyday-living/essential-skills/maximize-your-senses/123 [Accessed 15 Sep. 2016].

Featured image

Videos:

(1) YouTube. (2016). The Origins of Eyeglasses. [online] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n79rWGQqPaY [Accessed 15 Sep. 2016].

(2) Media.giphy.com. (2016). [online] Available at: https://media.giphy.com/media/3oEdv1vkhqxcynkB5C/giphy.gif [Accessed 15 Sep. 2016].

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

